logo Kronologi - Papua - Chronology honai/home page


1945 August 17

Following the Japanese surrender at the end of the Second World War, Sukarno proclaims the inauguration of the Republic of Indonesia. Soon afterwards, British forces arrive to assume control until the Dutch return. [jfs]

1945 August 23

Sukarno declares a policy of a united Indonesia, 'From Sabang to Merauke'. [bab]

1946 October

Conference at Pangkalpinang, Bangka, attended by Dutch and Indonesian minority groups supportive of Dutch, to discuss possible refuge areas for Eurasians after Indonesian independence. West New Guinea was considered as one area. [bab]

1946 November 15

Linggadjati Agreement signed between the Dutch and representatives of the Indonesian Republic. Under the agreement, the republicans have sovereignty over Java, Madura and Sumatra while the Dutch retain sovereignty over the rest of the Netherlands East Indies including West New Guinea. Both sides pledge to cooperate to create a federal United States of Indonesia by 1 January 1949 in which the Indonesian Republic and the Dutch-controlled territories would be sovereign states with the Dutch queen as head. [jfs]

1946 November 15

Linggadjati Agreement signed, to provide for the establishment of the United States of Indonesia by January 1949. [bab]

1947 July 20

Dutch. launch a 'police action' involving 100,000 troops. They make substantial territorial gains in Java and Sumatra. However there is strong international condemnation of the Dutch action in the UN and elsewhere. [jfs]

1947 August 04

Dutch agree to a ceasefire. [jfs]

1947 August 26

U.S.A. proposes the Good Offices Committee. [bab]

1948 January

Dutch and Indonesians sign the Renville agreement recognising as a ceasefire line the furthest advance of Dutch forces into Republican territory. [jfs]

1948 September

PKI uprising in Madiun against Republican government is put down. [jfs]

1948 December 18

Dutch launch second 'police action'. While the Dutch make further military gains, the Indonesian army is not destroyed and international protest against the Netherlands grows. [jfs]

1948 December 19

Second Dutch Police Action. [bab]

1949 (late)

New government elected in Australia under Menzies; Menzies in favour of continued Dutch control of West New Guinea. [bab]

1949 July

The Netherlands incorporates the sultanate of Tidore which includes West New Guinea as directly-ruled Dutch territory. [bab]

1949 August 11

Under pressure from the US, the Dutch agree to another ceasefire. [jfs]

1949 August 23- November 2

Round table conference between the Dutch and Indonesians held at The Hague. Both sides agree to the establishment of a Republic of the United States of Indonesia (LTSI) with the Dutch queen as titular head, and Sukarno as President. [jfs]

1949 October

Lucas Rumkorem, Corinus Kery and Julianus Tarumaselly form a secret Independent Indonesian Party at Bosnik, Biak. [bab]

1949 November 27

The Hague Agreement. The Netherlands cedes sovereignty of the Netherlands East Indies to the Indonesian Republic, but keeps West New Guinea. The Netherlands together with the new Republic establish a Netherlands-Indonesian Union which is intended to work for the common interest. It is agreed that the status of West New Guinea will be decided in further talks to take place within a year. [jfs]

1949 December 27

Round Table Conference agreements reached. [bab]

1949 December 29

Dutch Government issued a Decree for the Administrative Regulation of New Guinea, establishing Dutch New Guinea as a separate territory. [bab]

  © Copyright UNIPA - ANU - UNCEN PapuaWeb Project, 2002-2004.

honai/home page